The Sound Professionals Home Page
Cart: Items 0 Subtotal $ 0.00 Edit cart | Checkout
FREE shipping and returns on most orders!
 

Click Here
for full size image


Assembled in USA
Part# - SP-CMC-2 - Audio Technica - Deluxe Audio Technica Cardioid Stereo Microphones. Includes windscreens and clips - Item #B-14802
Retail: $249.95   Your Price (USD): $169.95  You Save: 32.01%  
 
Part #: SP-CMC-2
Description:

The Deluxe Audio Technica Cardioid microphone system utilizes matched set of Audio Technica AT831 Cardioid microphones. These microphone come with permanently installed high quality, double shielded microphone cables. The standard configuration comes with the two microphone cables terminated together into standard stereo gold plated 1/8" (3.5mm) mini plug. The high SPL versions (with XLR phantom plugs or with the AT8532 power modules) come with each mic on separate cable and connector. Custom cable lengths and configurations are available call for details.

General information about our Cardioid microphones is available here.

Powering Options:

There are several ways to power these microphones. Each of these options provides the same sound quality, the only difference is the maximum sound pressure level (SPL) the mics can handle.

1-The microphones can be powered with normal "plug-in-power", available on many portable recorders and camcorders. With this type of power, the mics will handle reasonable sound levels. If you will be using the mics in high SPL (sound pressure level) situations, the microphones require additional power, beyond the normal "plug in power". You will need to?? use one of the powering schemes described below:

2-For strong sound levels, consistent with loud amplified concerts, you can add battery module for increased high SPL performance and dynamic range. You can select the battery module shown above in the option box, or choose one of the many other types?? that are available on this page if you prefer.

3-For strong sound levels, consistent with loud amplified concerts when your recorder/mixer, etc. supplies phantom power, you can add the high SPL modified XLR connectors. Each mic has it's own XLR connector and cable and microphones ordered this way will not work with "plug in power" or standard battery module as shown above.

4-For intensely loud situations, consistent with highly amplified concerts at close distances to the speakers, you can add set of Ultra high SPL power modules (AT8533 or AT8532) with locking connectors between the mics and the power modules. In this configuration, the mics remain balanced. With the AT8533 modules, the microphones will plug into device (mixer, mic preamp, recorder, etc) that supplies 9-52v phantom power. With the AT8532, the microphones will run on each modules standard 9v battery or 9-52v phantom power. This configuration provides the highest level of SPL capability. The output of the modules are XLRM plugs. To connect the portable recorder with miniplug input, select this cable.

Specifications:

 Click Here To Compare This Item To Other Similar Products
Note: Hold your mouse over a column header for a definition.
Details Brand Audio Technica
Description Deluxe Audio Technica Cardioid Stereo Microphones. Includes windscreens and clips
Price $169.95
Reviews Number of Reviews: 12
Avg Score (out of 5): 4.9
More Info/Add to Cart View
Specifications Frequency Response 40-20,000 Hz
Signal To Noise Ratio 65dB
Open Circuit Sensitivity -42dB
Maximum Input Sound Level 116dB/131dB/151dB
Dynamic Range 87dB/102dB/122dB
Polar Pattern Cardioid
Dimensions in inches .4 X .98
Cable Length 48"
Microphone Body Material Black Painted brass
Power Requirements 2-12vdc "plug in power", power from Battery Module, or phantom power with power converter adapter
Features Interchangeable capsules available? No
Windscreens Optional
Croakie Option No
Clip availability Optional
Customer Reviews:

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other viewers!

Avg. Customer Review: 5 out of 5 stars
Number Of Reviews: 12
1211 of 2359 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Amazing mics! 00/00/0000
Reviewer: A viewer   from Plano, TX
I bought a set of the AT mics with clips last year and have been very impressed. I have regular AT mics and these are every bit as good. With a minidisc or portable DAT you can pack a stereo recording setup in your pocket. The mics are very clean and make excellent recordings - I have been very impressed. When people see the mics and then hear the recordings their jaws drop because they sound so good. You get 2 mics for the price of one regular AT mic so they are a good deal. The only negative is the detachable clips - I wish they weren't detachable because they come off way too easily. Note from SP: We now offer two different clips for this mic.
Was this review helpful to you?  



1777 of 3425 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC MIC FOR THE MONEY 00/00/0000
Reviewer: boogie   (boogie@dubious.com) from SF, CA
i have used this mic for live concert recording for the last 9 months and couldnt be happier with the results. small enough to conceal and affordable enough even for people starting out.
Was this review helpful to you?  



1604 of 3044 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars I like these Mics 00/00/0000
Reviewer: Mark   (rusttape@yahoo.com) from usa
I like these mics I have had great luck with them. I have taped 100+ shows in the USA,Canada,UK & Ireland. I bought a second set as a backup. The guys at Sound Professionals are great I wanted an angled connector on my battery box 4 months after I bought it, they changed it for free!! I will buy again.
Was this review helpful to you?  



1437 of 2860 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars if you record rock concerts - why buy anything els 00/00/0000
Reviewer: Dave(at)hoobastank-fan-source(nospammersdot)com   from Chicago, IL USA
These are great rock concert mics! Loud bassy music sounds crisp and clean with these guys when used properly with a bass filter and you get less crowd noise because they are cardiods. If you want people to take your recordings seriously and want them be of tradable quality, you can't go wrong with these mics, especially at this price! I've heard worse recordings with mics that cost 10 times as much. Great mics and service - I'm extremely satisfied with the transaction. I'm sending in some samples, hopefully they will be posted on the site here.
Was this review helpful to you?  



1512 of 2786 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Such a great product for such a great price 00/00/0000
Reviewer: Tyler   (thuff19@hotmail.com) from San Diego, CA USA
For only $109 you can't afford not to buy these mics, especially if you are just getting into taping of live concerts. I bought these mics on a recomendation from Boogie, who's opinion i respect very highly. I have been so very happy with these mics i see no need whatsoever to pay $500 for higher end mics when these do such a great job. I can b&P you shows i've recorded with these mics if you'd like. thuff19@hotmail.com
Was this review helpful to you?  



1170 of 1946 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Very happy with these mics 00/00/0000
Reviewer: larryx   (larry5x@yahoo.com) from san francisco
I badly needed a set of mics, alexc suggested these. no way could i afford $500 - $2000. the reviews were good, so i bought with the battery boost. total cost around $220. The results have been excellent. the sound is clean and full at the same time.
Was this review helpful to you?  



1112 of 2317 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars great mic - great sound 00/00/0000
Reviewer: sven   from norway
After trying the sp-cmc-2 mic's at some rock concert's here in Norway i must say that the recording is absolutely stunning . Crystal clear sound. I used your sp-1 batterybox along with the mic.I can highly recommend your mic and batterybox, i would say they are worth every dollar they cost. Finally i found what i'm looking for. Sound pro..Chris Thanks.
Was this review helpful to you?  



837 of 1591 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great product - Great purchase! 00/00/0000
Reviewer: A viewer   from Ferndale, MI US
I bought these mics back in the summer of 2004. I had been collecting and trading live music for about 5 years before I decided to try taping on my own. After much research and many referrals to the Sound Professionals..I decided on the AT831's. These mics have blown me away with the sound quality for such a small mic. They handle bass very well and are easy to conceal. I highly recommend these mics to any looking for a great mic for a great price! (Not to mention Chris is top notch when it comes to customer service)
Was this review helpful to you?  



615 of 1083 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Very Crisp, great bass, would buy again. 00/00/0000
Reviewer: A viewer   from Mississippi, USA
The sound that these microphones pick up captures everything you hear. With either the battery box or just with the plugin power provided by your recorder, these mics shine. Have not had them clip yet. The build quality is also excellent. These will probably outlast me.
Was this review helpful to you?  



541 of 997 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Mics, Awesome Recordings 00/00/0000
Reviewer: CCarver   from Minneapolis, MN
I purchased these mics back in 2002 and I couldn't be happier with the quality of these mics. The recordings are accurate even in heavy bass situations. I've used these with a sound pro battery module and have recording 100 shows and every recording blows me away.
Was this review helpful to you?  



549 of 1025 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Awesome sound 00/00/0000
Reviewer: A viewer   from New Jersey
I tried these out last night for a Robin Trower performance in a small club. I used these mics with the SP battery pack with no bass roll off. I listened to the recording the next day and was blown away by the richness of the sound. Nice bass and highs too. I highly recommend these mics.
Was this review helpful to you?  



514 of 954 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Incredible 00/00/0000
Reviewer: A viewer   from Kansas City, KS USA
I previously owned a pair of binaural microphones from the Sound Professionals, that were about 10 years old and starting to lose some of their power. I decided it was time to replace them and opted for a pair of cardoids. I used the SP-CMC-2's (with SP-SPSB-1 battery module) for the first time Oct. 14, 2011 at a Roger Daltrey concert and I was blown away by the results. The Who are known for being loud and, though Roger is almost in his 70s, and I was in the balcony, the bass kept me in my seat and my ears were almost bleeding. When I listened to the recording, I was blown away by the results. Everything was clear without distortion and enough bass was left without being flat. After a minute amount of tweaking the treble levels, the recording is beautiful.
Was this review helpful to you?  


Useful accessories:

[Sound Professionals  Micro-mini microphone power supply with mini 12vdc battery - various cable choices available. Made in USA.] Sound Professionals - Micro-mini microphone power supply with mini 12vdc battery - various cable choices available. Made in USA. - $69.95 - More Info  Add to cart

[Sound Professionals  Mini microphone power module with adjustable bass roll off and mini 12vdc battery - various cable choices available. Made in USA.] Sound Professionals - Mini microphone power module with adjustable bass roll off and mini 12vdc battery - various cable choices available. Made in USA. - $65.00 - More Info  Add to cart

[Neutrik/Sound Professionals  Upgrade to Neutrik Right Angle Connector - Single Cable Or Two Lightweight Cables Only  ] Neutrik/Sound Professionals - Upgrade to Neutrik Right Angle Connector - Single Cable Or Two Lightweight Cables Only - $15.00 - More Info  Add to cart

[Sound Professionals  Dual XLR Male to 1/8 inch Stereo Gold Plated Female with Phantom Power Converter Included. Made in USA] Sound Professionals - Dual XLR Male to 1/8 inch Stereo Gold Plated Female with Phantom Power Converter Included. Made in USA - $99.95 - More Info

[Sound Professionals  High-quality Mono/Stereo 3.5mm (1/8 inch) Double Shielded Stereo extension cable - select length in option box] Sound Professionals - High-quality Mono/Stereo 3.5mm (1/8 inch) Double Shielded Stereo extension cable - select length in option box - $24.95 - More Info

[Sound Professionals  Microphone power supply with 9v power and optional bass roll off] Sound Professionals - Microphone power supply with 9v power and optional bass roll off - $79.95 - More Info

[Sound Professionals  Modification to Add Phantom Power Adapters (AT8538) and Locking Connectors to Microphones. Made in USA.  ] Sound Professionals - Modification to Add Phantom Power Adapters (AT8538) and Locking Connectors to Microphones. Made in USA. - $149.00 - More Info  Add to cart

[Sound Professionals  One Pair Small Premium Black Windscreens.  ] Sound Professionals - One Pair Small Premium Black Windscreens. - $13.95 - More Info  Add to cart

[Switchcraft/Sound Professionals  Upgrade to Switchcraft Right Angle Connector - Single Heavyweight Cable Or Two Mediumweight Cables Only.  ] Switchcraft/Sound Professionals - Upgrade to Switchcraft Right Angle Connector - Single Heavyweight Cable Or Two Mediumweight Cables Only. - $15.00 - More Info  Add to cart

[Audio Technica  One pair AT8116 Mini Windscreens For AT831, AT803, PRO70 and SP-CMC-2 ] Audio Technica - One pair AT8116 Mini Windscreens For AT831, AT803, PRO70 and SP-CMC-2 - $24.95 - More Info  Add to cart

[Audio Technica  One pair lapel Clip (AT8417) For Various Microphones - AT831, AT803, AT829] Audio Technica - One pair lapel Clip (AT8417) For Various Microphones - AT831, AT803, AT829 - $24.99 - More Info  Add to cart

[Audio Technica  One pair rotating Lavalier Microphone Tie Clip for SP-CMC-2, AT831, AT803 and AT829 Microphones (AT8419)] Audio Technica - One pair rotating Lavalier Microphone Tie Clip for SP-CMC-2, AT831, AT803 and AT829 Microphones (AT8419) - $29.95 - More Info  Add to cart

[Sound Professionals  Additional 2 Year Extended Warranty On Sound Professionals Product Up to $149 Purchase Price  ] Sound Professionals - Additional 2 Year Extended Warranty On Sound Professionals Product Up to $149 Purchase Price - $14.99 - More Info  Add to cart

[Sound Professionals One pair (2) Furry windscreen for miniature Sound Professionals - One pair (2) Furry windscreen for miniature "lapel" style microphones. - $16.95 - More Info  Add to cart

[Sound Professionals  Phantom Power Modification - Adds a pair of XLR phantom converters instead Of The Normal Mini Plug So That It Will Run On Phantom Power  ] Sound Professionals - Phantom Power Modification - Adds a pair of XLR phantom converters instead Of The Normal Mini Plug So That It Will Run On Phantom Power - $99.95 - More Info  Add to cart

[Sound Professionals  This modification will retrofit a set of Audio Technica mics to lower the sensitivity and increase max SPL] Sound Professionals - This modification will retrofit a set of Audio Technica mics to lower the sensitivity and increase max SPL - $45.00 - More Info

[Sound Professionals/Andrea Communications Andrea High Gain Pure Audio USB Digital Sound Card With  Noise Reduction Technology and +30dB microphone boost. Note: this is not a microphone] Sound Professionals/Andrea Communications - Andrea High Gain Pure Audio USB Digital Sound Card With Noise Reduction Technology and +30dB microphone boost. Note: this is not a microphone - $79.95 - More Info

Upshot Commerce

Ecommerce

 

Shopping Cart Software by

 

Upshot Commerce